Get to know Taylor from Diverted Heart

Meet Taylor from Beth Ann Stifflemire’s Diverted Heart  

Diverted HeartWhat is your role in the story?

I’m Taylor, the character this story, “Diverted Heart” is based around. I’m a college bound recent high school grad with a boyfriend whose just left for college and I desperately want it to work, but everything about the way my summer unfolds after my parents move to an inherited farm in a tiny Texas Town is turned upside down when a handsome neighbor comes into the picture. It’s a summer that forces me to grow up, determine what love really is and experience true passion in a way I had no idea was possible.

Can you tell us a little about yourself?

Sure, but boy am I a totally different person than I was a few weeks ago. I just graduated high school and my boyfriend has gone early to college to play football…all the while my parents decided it was brilliant to move to the middle of nowhere Texas from Houston. So I’m trying to make the most of it. I’m doing things I love like running with my lab Judge and painting. Then this Maxwell guy falls out of the clear blue sky and lives just up the road in this desolate place. He’s nice and all but he spells trouble with his good looks and not discounting the fact he’s goes to the same college I’m headed to, Texas A&M. I can’t wait to head to college, though I have no clue what I really want to do. But, this Maxwell guy, he’s fogging my brain not to mention I’m missing Eric my boyfriend desperately.

What is your favorite hobby?

Recently I picked back up painting again. My Mom (well step-mom) taught me when I was younger and she first married my Dad. It was something I’d stopped doing in my early teens but now that we’ve moved and I have nothing by time on my hands (ugh) I’ve picked it back up again. It’s like therapy. No one’s really said much about my work, well until Maxwell saw one of my paintings recently.

What is the challenge you’re thing to overcome during the story?

I’m having to overcome several life changes. Moving from a city I’ve known my entire life to a small town and farm I know nothing about. Compiled with the fact that my first love has left for college leaving my heart feeling pulled in a hundred different directions and outcomes. All conflicted with the excitement I feel about going to college in the fall. So many changes! And just when I think I have enough change on my plate, this Maxwell character falls out of the clear blue sky and leaves me feeling ways I never have before.

If you could make one wish, what would it be?

This is a tough one…but at the end of the day the wish at the top of my list would be to know what love really is. Is there really such a thing and does it go beyond the physical?

Connect with the Author via Twitter

Book Merchandising

Leave a Reply

