Nana Malone on Running Away to London

Nana Malone on Plain TalkWe’ve all experienced this.  The overwhelming urge to run away from your life, from the thing that scares you most or hems you in.

I had that moment myself. And yes, I ran to London. I was in a dead end job doing something I didn’t love and the city that was normally so vibrant and alive felt hollow to me. After a year long stint in Ghana for a contract, I opted to attend graduate school in London. After all, I’d always enjoyed the city.

But I was unprepared for how alive I’d feel once I got there. In a matter of weeks, I had a job, had registered for my classes and knew the tube and bus schedule as if I was a born Londoner. Most people would assume I had the most fun tripping in my heels, running from club to club.  Lol. And while that was enjoyable, I honestly had the most fun at my job. I know, weird right?

I worked at a call center full of ex-pat foreign nationals. I met people from South Africa, Zimbabwe and Brazil. Everyone was young and adventurous and wanted to explore. The moments between calls and between shifts were where I made some of the friends I still have to this day.

I also became addicted to running home between work and school to catch an episode of East Enders (A UK soap opera) and would have these hilarious philosophical conversations about why British television stars didn’t have that pretty, polished glow to them that our stars in the US did. With my schedule, I often had my groceries delivered. I took dance classes at Pineapple Dance studios and explored Covent Garden on the weekends. Going to the park meant Hyde Park and shopping meant the High Street or the West End.

But most importantly, in those moments of exploration and fun and dancing, and combing British bookstores looking for every Lesley Pierce and Martina Cole book known to mankind, I found myself. Oh yeah, and I went to a few classes too.

The friends and love that Imani from London Calling find in London will change the course of her life, just like London did for me. I hope you enjoy Imani and Xander’s story as they explore themselves, shed their pasts and find true love.

London Calling Banner

Read more about London Calling and Nana Malone here.

Leave a Reply

