Bending the Rules Excerpt

BendingtheRules

Morgan

In the cab on the way to the airport I stare out of the window and think about the past few days and how my life has taken such an amazing turn. I still cannot believe my New Year’s getaway has returned my love to me, and also opened my eyes about Adrian. His intentions to get me back may have been pure, but lies and manipulation are not the way to win my heart. Especially when it already belongs to someone else. It was kind of fun packing Drake’s apartment with him. He really didn’t have a lot of stuff there, because he packed so hastily to come here and he really didn’t do much besides work while he was there. I saw a little embarrassment in Drake’s face when I noticed some of my things that he brought with him. I thought it was sweet though that he wanted a piece of me with him.

We shipped the majority of Drake’s things back to the States and Drake printed our boarding passes last night, so with only one carry-on each we were able to make our way through security and head towards our gate with ease.

Drake doesn’t seem to notice when we walk right past our gate. “Uh, babe, I think we just walked past our gate.”

“No we didn’t,” Drake says as he grabs my hand and lifts it to his lips to give it a tender kiss as we keep walking.

“But the gate said JFK,” I say.

“I know,” he says, while giving me a mischievous smile and a wink.

“I’m confused. I thought we are going home.”

“We are.”

“So….what’s going on then?” I ask, absolutely loving the fact that Drake is clearly up to something.

“We have a little stop to make first,” he says.

“A little stop? We’re in the international terminal. Where are we going?”

“You’ll see,” Drake says as he lets go of my hand to wrap that arm around me and kiss the top of my head. We walk a little further until we are almost at the end of the terminal and Drake casually guides us to our gate. I read the departure sign and am overcome with joy. I stop walking and look into his face, noticing the shit eating grin he’s wearing. Clearly the man is happy with himself.

“PARIS?” I squeal so loudly that most of the heads at our gate turn to look.

“I thought we could re-create the scene at the baggage claim a few months ago where I watch you get your bag and sadly yet with hope still in your eyes grab a cab. Only this time, we’ll simply just depart from the airport carry-ons in hand and grab a cab together.”

I throw my arms around Drake, tears spilling down my cheeks, and sob into his chest. “I wanted so badly for you to be there. I searched and searched for you, Drake. It broke my heart when I couldn’t find you.”

“I was there. I’m so sorry I couldn’t go to you. It was nearly impossible not to, but Morgan, we wouldn’t be standing here right now if I had. You found me, baby. When you met me on your first day at Baylor what seems like a lifetime ago you found me. Only this time I’m not letting you go.”

“I’m not letting you go either. Whatever the future holds for us, Drake, we will figure it out together.”

Learn more about Bending the Rules here.

Leave a Reply

